How to use this tool to keep yourself safe in the world of travel
New Jersey is set to become the latest state to pass a bill banning lightweight travel trailer travel, but it will cost the average tourist about $30 to make it across the state.
The bill, which Gov.
Chris Christie signed into law Monday, bans vehicles that can be used for camping and other recreational activities and includes a $30 fine for violators.
Christie’s signature also requires people who are driving heavy machinery to stop and drive at a safe speed.
But critics say the ban will unfairly punish heavy-trailer travelers who want to visit places like New York, California, Colorado, Texas, Florida, New Jersey and Illinois.
The ban on light-weight trailers comes as a growing number of states are passing their own bans on commercial and recreational vehicle travel, including California, New York and Colorado.